top of page

 BLOG POSTS

READ. IMAGINE. WRITE.

TIPS, TRICKS, & "OUT-OF-THE-BOX" IDEAS FOR FICTION WRITERS

hd-wallpaper-1846865_edited.jpg
  • Writer's pictureM.L. Bull

DIY: Creating Your Author Website - Brainstorming Ideas & Building from Scratch

Updated: Mar 5

What is one thing that probably every author should have? The answer, an author website.

My author website homepage
 

Having an author website can be very beneficial by providing easy access for readers as well as one's own personal space to advertise their author branding, author platform, and published stories and books. Now, although you could hire someone to make a professional author website for you, why not create one yourself? Doing it yourself can help you save a lot of money and create something unique that matches your book genre or personality. As I'm sure you're aware of, the image above is a snapshot of my author website that I built from scratch, and I just love it! After trying multiple different designs on different web providers, I finally have settled on one I not only like, but that matches my personality. Interested in creating your own author website? Watch the tutorial videos below.

 

🌐PART 1: BRAINSTORMING IDEAS, COLOR PALETTES, & FONTS


Author Website Planner

In my lesson 2 tutorial from my Journey of a Christian Writer series channel I demonstrate how you can brainstorm your ideas using an author website planner in Microsoft Word or any other word processor or organizational tool before actually building it in a web provider from scratch. By using the following steps and your creativity and imagination, you can visualize and create a professional author website that you can be proud of.

 

🌐PART 2: BUILDING YOUR AUTHOR WEBSITE FROM SCRATCH


Did you enjoy part 1? If so, see part 2 in the lesson 3 tutorial video below on how to build your author website from scratch drawing a sketch and applying your information from your author website planner while using Wix's website provider.

 

📣CLOSING REMARKS:

Adventure is out there!

I hope this post was helpful and sparked your creativity and imagination. So, what are you waiting for? Start experimenting and making your author website and do yourself a favor by saving a couple of bucks. Be sure to give this post a like (heart ❤️) and feel free to comment and share your thoughts below. 💬)


Other sites I used for my author website:



Comments


bottom of page